top of page

Moonlight on the River

I had an annoying friend in Paris. After coming back to Taiwan, I found he’s right. Why he’s always annoying was because I liked to be annoyed. How ridiculous? While I couldn’t deny that.

Laughing and crying, we did some crazy things. Crazy but happy. When the passerby asked to take a photo of us, we definitely should say yes. Every time he looked at me with a striking smile, I always yelled back to him: “Why are you laughing at me?” “I’m not laughing at you!” “You are laughing at me!” “I just can’t look away from your big eyes and smile.”

I miss him as well as the time we got along, though it’s just a moment in life. Merely. Fragments. Kissing in Paris is definitely better than kissing in a tent in the woods. We both agreed. So we did that. No I’m kidding. But who knows? Sometimes I have a lot of thoughts and emotions but all of them are vague and unreal and seem to be kind of illusion of mine. Merely. Fragments. I walked in the sun, through the park, passing by crowds with laughs. I seemed to forget everything. In the end, we are all alone, or just me. Sun rises and sets. Goodbyes were said, again and again. All the memories fade out one day, which might happen right today.

I’d say, see you later, if I thought I’d see you later And I’d tell you, that I loved you, if I did It’s so strange, deciding, how to feel about it It’s such strange, emotion, standing there beside it

I’m home, with moonlight on the river, saying my goodbyes I’m home, there's moonlight on the river, everybody dies

I’d say, see you next time, if I thought there were a next time Easy conversation, ain’t exactly where we're at It’s so strange, deciding, how I feel about you It ain’t like, I ain’t used, to going on without you

I’m home, with moonlight on the river, saying my goodbyes I’m home, there’s moonlight on the river, everybody dies I’m home, with moonlight on the river, saying my goodbyes I’m home, there’s moonlight on the river, everybody dies

Songwriters: Mac DeMarco

bottom of page